Four early-career tips for Software Engineers by a Sr Software Engineer

Alfredo Hinojosa
4 min readMay 8, 2022

This post intends to help junior Software Engineers or even students pursuing a career as Software Development Engineers; this list contains some tips that have helped me during my journey, which also proved to be beneficial to my mentees.

1. Define a path

The world of Software Development is massive, with many branches like Web Development, Mobile Apps Development, and Video Games Development. In a world of endless possibilities having a career plan is crucial. My first suggestion is to try to think about your dream job and think about it at a high level; do you want to create the following mobile app that everyone is talking about? Do you want to create beautiful and engaging websites? Or do you want to develop the next video game hit?

Deciding on which path to take is just the first step in creating a career plan; the next step is researching the technologies used in your dream job. Research the development stack used in that job and try to work with it; get your hands dirty with that stack and see if developing in that environment is fulfilling to you.

During my first two years in University, I had in my mind to work in Video Games Development; however, after taking multiple classes, projects and hackathons, I realized it was not for…

--

--

Alfredo Hinojosa

Sr. Software Engineer @ Amazon Alexa | Productivity Tools/Apps enthusiast | Opinions are my own and not the views of my employer. alfhinojosa.com